Thank you!

In the middle of this year’s camp we were somehow faced with the impossible task of saying goodbye to our founding member, Administrative Director and dear friend,
Mary Florence MacDonald.

Mary was our anchor and we are heartbroken. Girls Rock NL simply would never have happened without her. Thanks to her professionalism, skills, talent, bravery, strength, time, patience, thoughtfulness and kindness, young women in our communities have had the opportunity to learn, grow, share and rock out at Girls Rock Camp with no financial obstacle. Mary was an artist herself, and an award winning art curator, and nothing gave her more joy than to see people thrive creatively. Mary studied at OCAD, and had a Curatorial MFA specializing in rural art and community. One of the areas she was interested in was making sure that people in rural communities were able to have access to creative opportunities. To further Mary’s vision as a curator and to foster her vision for rural communities, specifically in relation to girls who want to rock, we will be launching the Mary MacDonald Girls Rock NL Scholarship during our 2018 Camp. Please stay tuned for further details.

Thank you to every girl at camp this year, to every parent and guardian who supported her, to everyone who came to see this year’s final showcase, to everyone listed below and anyone we may have missed. In short, thank you everyone, for helping make this year’s camp happen. Thank you, especially, to Mary.


Joanna Barker, Krista Power, Mara Pellerin and Jenina MacGillivray

Thank you to
Our Session Leaders & Performers:

Sarah Harris, Meg McLaughlin, Meg Harnum, Esmee Gilbert, Sherry Ryan, Kate Lahey, Maria Peddle, Kelly McMichael, Joanne Morgan, Lo Siento, Paige Penney, Aiseo, Andrea Monro, Sarah Blackmore, Allie Duff, LB Power, Roz McPhail, Hope Jamieson, Maria Cherwick, Caroline Clarke, Renee Sharpe, Joanna Barker, Krista Power, Mara Pellerin, Michelle Lacour, Carmella Gray-Cosgrove, Colleen Power, Heather Nolan, and Andy Bullman

Thank you to
our Friends of Girls Rock NL:

The City of St. John’s, Long and McQuade, O’Brien’s Music, Dave Rowe, Music NL, The Lantern, CELTX, Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Festival, The St. John’s International Women’s Film Festival, Club One, Catherine Barker, Renee Sharpe, Amy Anthony, Bad Plan, Jud Haynes, Geordie Dynes, Fred’s Records, RehearsalRehearsal, Mallard Cottage, Maggie Burton, Chris McGee, Emily Deming, Ken Holden, Maggie Holden, Amery Sanford, Back Alley Jerks Ice Cream, Calla Lachance, Rodney De Vries Violins, Nova Yoga, The Battery Cafe, TVAL, Pony Locale, Erin Turcke, NL Distillery, Embrace Wellness, Lawnya Vawnya, Darren “Boobie” Browne, Tiffany O’Brien, Kelly McMichael, Gavin Simms, Grace King, Jonathan Kennedy, Alex Trnka, Breakwater Books, Joel Finnis, Meg Harnum, Amelia Curran, Town House, Kat McLevey, Megan Marshall, Jack Etchegary, Maria Peddle, Sarah Harris, Josh Ward, Adam Hogan, Victoria Wells, Megan McLaughlin, Marcus Mclaughlin, Zakk Sullivan, Adam Ravalia, Steve Maloney, Mara Pellerin, Esmee Gilbert, Leslie Amminson, Liam White, Peter Lanno, Hannah Boone, Chrissy and Steve Lee, Bridget Canning, Mark Bragg, Romesh Thavanathan, Steve Pike, Adrian Collins

Thank you to
our Kickstarter Campaign supporters:

Thank you to everyone who donated to our Kickstarter Campaign (including those who donated anonymously): Keith Power, Emily Deeming Martin, Wooden Leg Studio, David Keating, Michelle Swab, Michelle Bush, Philippa Jones, Rosie Myers, Kim Mack, Tara Feener, Justin Burnett, Carol MacDonald, Andrew Robinson, Emily Deeming Martin, James Sahlmueller, Sean Carew, Sheila House, Edgar Blades, Kelly Fry, Jane Walker, Thea Morash, Claudine Murray

You're all amazing!

Keep watch on this site for Girls Rock NL to take part or host events all year round, and then we'll see you next summer at our third annual St. John's GIRLS ROCK CAMP!